Wk14 – Art Experience – Sketching in the CSULB Japanese Garden

FullSizeRender.jpgThis week’s art experience was kinda hard for me. For the first part I didn’t know we were supposed to go to the CSULB Japanese Garden and I started walking to the art galleries at first until my friends called me. It was a good thing I had my long board so I wasn’t late to class. I had never been to the Japanese Garden so I did not know what to expect. It was really nice and I thought that the landscape was very beautiful. It was kind of refreshing to be here for class. Because this was my first time here, I didn’t really want to sketch but I wanted to just absorb all of the beauty with my eyes instead. I even ended up buying the food and fed the koi fish. I found this experience a little irritating because I am the worse drawer, especially when writing under a short amount of time. I like to take take my time when it comes to doing something especially stuff that I am bad at. I feel like a lot of my sketches were really bad so sorry if you don’t see a lot of them. I also don’t like the fact that you can’t erase when sketching. I consider myself to be a perfectionist so not being able to erase my mistakes was making me go crazy. I feel like this art experience has made a little better at sketching and drawing because we had to the multiple sketches in short amounts of times. I can also say that this art experience has also taught me an important life lesson. Like the mistakes we make during the sketch, we should also just move on and keep going when making a mistake in our own lives and focus more on the important things because life is short.

Leave a Reply

