Wk13 – Artist Conversation – Krystal Ramirez

Exhibit Information 

Artist: Krystal Ramirez
Exhibition: La Cena está Servida (Dinner is Served)
Media: Metals
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Merlino Gallery
Website: www.kgrmetalcraft.com
Instagram: @kgrmetalcraft

About the Artist

Krystal Ramirez is currently working on attaining her Bachelor’s of Fine Arts and focusing on her metal program. She is currently finishing up in her last year here at CSULB. Krystal started off as a Human Development major but decided to change change to art after. She started off her passion for by simply drawing when she was younger but it developed into much more when she took some jewelry classes in the Orange County School of arts.

Formal Analysis

Krystal’s main focus on her exhibit was the metal she used to create her art. She hand crafted various pieces of metal to create unique textures, shapes, and colors. The colors varied from black, silver, copper, and yellow. Some pieces of metal appeared to be more sharp while other pieces were shown to be more round. Some pieces of metal also appeared to be more shiny while other pieces were more dull or matte. Krystal’s art expresses how metal can be manipulated and changes and is beautiful. Everything around the pieces of metal including the the table and coasters that are made of wood went well and helped the whole exhibit flow together.

Content Analysis

Krystal uses her exhibit to remind people of the dinner table we used to always eat at with our families. She uses the wood table and her metal art work to create a nostalgic feeling of warmth, safety, and happiness we experience when eating dinner with our families. As well as invoking a feeling of nostalgia, Krystal uses her metal creations to show how each little piece or ingredient comes together to create a beautiful meal or combination. Krystal also uses her artwork to display the relationships she has created with various people and how they have influenced her life. She shows this by showing how each piece of metal can be twisted and changed.

Synthesis/ My Experience

I really liked this exhibit because I honestly felt that her exhibit did give off a feeling of nostalgia from eating dinner with the family. I can’t really say it was a feeling of nostalgia for me because I usually eat dinner with my family almost everyday or at least during most of the week. Also, it’s not only with just my direct family but it is usually with my mom’s side of the family. Our family is really close and I love eating dinner with them most if the time. I think if we stopped eating dinner like that I would feel very lonely. I always feel safe and like I can be honest with myself whenever I’m around them at the dinner table. Seeing Krystal’s exhibit has reminded me of how much I love eating family dinners and I should really enjoy and be grateful for all the time I spend when eating dinner with my family.

Leave a Reply

