Wk 12 – Art Experience – Ethnography

IMG_0570IMG_2470

When I heard about how we had to spend the night without electricity, I was not excited. I am very technology dependent and so I did not know how I would survive the night. I chose to stay in my room because it’s usually where I spend my time and where I feel most comfortable. I decided to light a scented candle as my source of light. I thought even with the candle light, it was really dim in my room. I would have tried to read a book but I didn’t have any new books to read. When I’m bored I like to read manga from my phone but I couldn’t do so because I had no electricity. I ended up just lying in bed for a little bit and contemplated my life because I had nothing else to do. I fell asleep really fast though because I had practice from PCN that took up the whole day. I don’t think that the way of living without electricity was the hard part. It was really hard to entertain yourself without electricity or at least in this day of age. It was hard because a lot of the entrainment we enjoy like video games, talking, videos, and pictures is very access because of technology and without life can be a little more boring. I’m curious to see if I could find something to do to entertain myself during ethnography. This experience wasn’t as bad as I thought it was but maybe that’s because I fell asleep early because I was tired.

Leave a Reply

