Wk2 – Art Experience – Landscapes With a Corpse

img_1650img_1649img_1652img_1653To be honest when it came to creating this scene, I did not feel that comfortable. I am one of those people who doesn’t want to think about death. I know that death is something that is in everyday life and being college students we should not try to cover up our ears about it like Professor Glenn said but I can’t help it. Death is sometimes a very depressing topic and I don’t like the feeling of being depressed. I’m not saying that sadness is a bad emotion because a lot of art is derived from it because it brings about such strong feelings but it’s not something I want to think about myself. I get super depressed when a character in a movie, tv show, and anime dies. I don’t know what’ll happen if someone I’m close with dies. It didn’t help the fact that one of my grandmas went to the hospital this week and I visited her. Thankfully she was okay but I didn’t want to even think about death when I heard about it.

At first I did not know what I wanted to do for the project. What did I want the cause of death to be? Should I try to make it a funny scenario to lighten the topic of death or should I make it serious since death is a serious topic. I really didn’t know but then I thought of a compromise. I decided to do a drug overdose with Tylenol. I thought it was an appropriate mix of both because drug overdosing is real problem and many people have died because of it but, it was also funny because Tylenol is in aspirin that’s known to help with headaches and pain. Normally you wouldn’t associate it as a drug you can overdose on. It was really hard to take the pictures because I was sometimes laughing or my face didn’t really look like it was dead. It didn’t help that I was making funny faces sometimes to help lighten the mood since we are technically dealing with a serious topic. It was all fun and games until my mom walked in on my sister and asked what we were doing. We told her about the project and then she told us that one of her friend’s daughter died from a Tylenol overdose. It was kind of scary to hear that and again I was forced to face the fact that death is a part of life. After reflecting on this project, I think that it is a good one because it forces people like me who are afraid about even thinking about death to face reality. I think that I myself am now a little less afraid of the topic but I would still prefer doing things that deal more with laughter and smiling.

Leave a Reply

